South America – day ?

Its 6am. I want to go back to sleep but my coffee is already made and I don’t want to waste it. I got up at 5 with Brody. (We’re having some trouble with his sleep schedule.). After that I made coffee to motivate myself to stay awake. I started reading my Bible study book but just couldn’t seem to concentrate. Derick is coming home in 12 days! TWELVE DAYS!!! I think the total number of days he was gone will be somewhere around 190, and we’re down to 12. Wow! I can’t believe we’re counting down to the end. He is back in the United States and he’s preparing to travel home.

I have two major projects going to get ready for Derick to return to us. I am redecorating my bedroom and I am clearing out and organizing the basement. My bedroom is looking more and more beautiful everyday! I think I’ve said before that I want it to be a place of refuge when he returns. Its the entire upstairs of my house. The kids aren’t allowed up there without permission. So far, I have a new comforter set complete with pillow shams and bed skirt. Yesterday my friend Anna came over and we made a slip cover for my chair and ottoman. I have shears to hang. The lamps that were in my living room are getting moved into my bedroom. I need to get some curtain rods and I need to get blinds. I would also love to paint my bathroom. This seems like a tall order. If I get all of this done, I don’t think Derick will even notice the basement or any other part of the house!

Wow! Twelve days! What an adventure this has been! In some ways life seems to stop and in others it just has too keep going. Every night when I pray with the kids, I always tell Allyn what to pray for “Dear God, Thank you for today. Keep Daddy safe. Heal Grandma. I love you. Amen” Its pretty cute. This week though, he has changed the keep Daddy safe part to “Daddy home”. It melted my heart when I heard it! He thought of that on his own! Even my 2-year-old knows we are preparing for Derick’s return!

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is actually in Song of Solomon. Song of Songs 2:11-13 says, “See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.” How appropriate for Derick’s return! The winter is gone literally and figuratively. (Well, figuratively probably before literally… In Illinois, anyway.)

A friend of mine suggested something from Uppercase Living to put on my bedroom wall. But, maybe I’ll just paint that verse on the wall instead. It would be a lot easier if I had an overhead projector. I wish I had another week to work on it. Or that I had thought of it a month ago. How beautiful and appropriate that would be, painted on my wall with little flowers painted to frame it! I guess I just have to see how much time I have.

I think my parents are coming over today to help me work on the basement. Pray that we get a lot done, please! I think the basement could be done in a day or two if we really work hard at it. So, here’s to hoping! Everyone will have to come see my beautiful house after Derick comes home. And you can visit with Derick while you’re here, too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

