South America – Day ??

In case no one noticed, I don’t have the day posted in the title like I usually do. There is a really good reason for that. My computer died this week. Its been ill for quite a while, but this week it finally passed. When Derick returns he may be able to lay hands on it and breathe life into it once again. He has a magic touch like that. But I’m not counting on it. I am currently writing this blog from my phone. (I love technology!!) Anyway, my calendar on which I kept track of how long Derick has been gone is on that computer. I have no idea what the number of days is off the top of my head. I have a countdown till he returns now but I’m not really supposed to post that on the internet yet. I think once he is state side I’ll be able to but not until then.

Last night I went to Target with my 3 youngest kids. Christian went to a movie with his dad. So, since I was relieved of one I thought I would venture out in public in hopes that we would make total fools of ourselves. Well, we survived and I must say, they did famously! I wanted to pick out new bedding and curtains for my bedroom. Of all the rooms in my house, I’d like for our room to be the most welcome sight for Derick. He has had absolutely no privacy for the last 6 months. So, I wanted to make our room a place of refuge for him. A place that he can go to relax and recuporate. It helps that our room is the entire upstairs of our house. I’ve already told my kids they are not allowed in there without permission. Allyn is the only one who seems to have trouble with that. All the movies are in there and he can’t seem to stay away from them. Anyway, I’d like to have the basement organized too but the bedroom is my top priority.

The other project that I have been working on is making handbags. I mentioned it on facebook once, trying a new hobby, I mean. I have a friend that is moving to Brazil on Thursday. She has come to my house about once every other week on average since Derick left. She is also pregnant and I thought a handbag/diaper bag made by yours truly would make a great baby gift. The bag turned out beautifully! I would love to make lots more but I don’t have my own sewing machine. I have to use my mom’s. If anyone has a working sewing machine that they would like to get rid of, let me know. I’m willing to pay you for it. I’m not looking for a hand out, just a good deal. I don’t really have the money to invest in a good new machine right now. That gets a little pricey!

Well, Brody is sleeping right now so I suppose I should probably take advantage of being down one kid and get something done. Since my computer is out of commission I don’t know when my next post will be. At the very least I’ll post when Derick get home. (Then I’ll have his computer to use!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

