South America – Day 160

This week I have been thinking a lot about going back to work.  On Monday I drove to Springfield to renew my cosmetology license.  This is not something that I have shared with very many people until now, but my license expired on October first.  Since I wasn’t working, and I had a lot going on in my life at that point, I wasn’t very worried about it.  When Derick returns, however, I may not have a choice but to re-enter the workforce.  So, Monday, when I started thinking seriously about working again, I decided I’d better go get it renewed so that I can work and so that I can shop at the suppliers again. 

I love my job.  I love doing hair, makeup and (natural) nails.  I love styling hair.  I would love to find some sort of class that teaches all kinds of styling.  Not just for everyday, but for theater and special events as well.  I know there are tricks of the trade that just can’t be learned over night.  But I don’t think there is anything like that around here.  One of my teachers in beauty school, Judy, seemed to have all kinds of tricks up her sleeve.  There were clients that would come into the school, who used to have Judy do their hair.  She has been a teacher now for years and years, and still her clients come to the school.  Even though she doesn’t actually do hair, for some reason these people feel better getting their hair done at the school, just knowing that she is there.  In the world of vanity, that seems like a great reputation to have.  It says a lot about not only her styling abilities, but also her ability to make the client feel good about themselves. 

Maybe I could just go back to school to be a cosmetology teacher.  I think I would really rather teach than actually do hair myself.  The only problem with that is if I did, I’d want to go to Oehrlein School of Cosmetology (my alma mater) for teacher training and I’d want to work at Oehrlein when I’m done.  That depends on what job opportunities are available at the end of my training and if they’d hire me.  I guess its just something I’ll have to pray about and then wait and see what happens.  I don’t even know what Derick would think of the idea.  It just popped into my head as I was writing about my teacher.

Yesterday, I did my friend, Tami’s hair and I did my sister, Kendra’s hair.  I confided in Tami that I love my chosen profession.  I love it!  I’m just not sure I’m ready to go back and do it full time though.  I’m not sure, with four kids, that I have the dedication and energy to put into building a brand new clientele.  I have always thought about going to college to become a teacher.  I thought I would major in speech and drama or maybe in theater.  Perhaps just an english major would be the easiest.  But I didn’t want to teach English classes, just the speech and drama and theater classes.  That sounds great, but it also sounds like a lot of work for a career that essentially is in the very distant future at this point.  I think cosmetology teacher training would take about 4 months since I have been a working stylist for the past 6 years. 

I think I also just need to talk to Derick and find out his opinion.  Last night when we were talking, we were both so tired we were about to fall asleep in the middle of the conversation.  I was joking that I must be getting old.  It was only 9:00pm and I was almost asleep.  Well, its getting late and I have things to do today. 

Have a good day everyone!  Ladies, don’t forget to kiss your husbands today!

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

