South America – Day 158

Today is the day that my friend, Jared is coming home after a tour in Iraq.  I suppose I can call him my friend.  I don’t think I have see or talked to him since his wedding day in May of 1997.  He was my friend in high school. So was his wife, Kim.  She and I have reconnected through facebook, since both of our husbands have been overseas with the military.  Ya gotta love facebook!  So, he gets in tonight at 10:25, to the Peoria airport.  Kim thought there would be quite a few people there.  If it wasn’t so late, I would take my kids.  I still might consider taking Christian, but I think he would have a hard time getting up for school in the morning if I did.  This makes me very anxious for Derick to come home.  One major difference, though, is that Jared is a Marine and Derick is a Navy Seabee.  The Navy doesn’t travel in uniform.  The only time I have seen Derick required to travel in uniform on a civilian flight was when he went from bootcamp to “A” school.  Other than that he will be in “civvy’s” (civilian clothes).  I am excited for Kim thought.  I can only imagine what she must be feeling!  How incredibly exciting!  I can’t wait til its my turn! 🙂

It is 6:30 in the morning and Aida and I have been up for an hour.  She is standing over my shoulder as I write this.  She was sick last night and then ended up in my bed.  So when I got up, so did she.  Scratch that, make that Aida and Allyn are standing over my shoulder as I write this.  He just immerged from his bedroom too.  I guess that’s the trouble with putting him in a big boy bed.  He can get out of bed when he wakes up.  Maybe I should put alarm clocks in their rooms and tell them they can’t come out until the alarm goes off.  The fact that they are awake right now kind of defeats the whole purpose of me getting up so early.  I do it to have quiet, alone time, not more one-on-one time with the kids.  We can have quality time all day long.  I don’t need to do at at 6am! 

I guess if I’m going to follow Derick’s orders, I need to tell about my day yesterday.  I went to Bible study in the morning.  I was late and frazzled when I got there.  I didn’t want to sit down and lead when I felt like that, but I really didn’t have a choice.  I feel out of sorts, and inadequate with leading this study.  And I just can’t seem to shake it.  I know that God does not call us because of our earthly qualifications but because of what he sees.  But, I wonder sometimes, what that is, exactly.  Everything went fine.  The farther into the study we got, the calmer I felt.  I was near tears when I got there because I was so frazzled.  But, God’s Word does seem to have a calming effect.  Perhaps its because it is true.  All of it.  I don’t have to guess what I will believe and what I won’t.  It is ALL true. 

These verses have been brought to my mind a lot lately, probably because of the truth of God’s word.

Hebrews 4:12 “For the Word of God is quick and powerful, sharper than any towedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of the soul and the spirit, of the joint and the marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and the intents of the heart.”

Isaiah 55:11 “So shall my Word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I send it.”

II Timothy 3:16 “All scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.”

God’s Word is true, it is powerful, and it will accomplish whatever God wants it to accompish.  I shouldn’t have to worry or get frazzled about what little I know of the book of Ruth.  God knows.  He knows what each woman in the study needs to learn from Him.  That’s not my job, that is his.  What a relief!  I am not the teacher, he is.  I am just the facilitator!

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

