South America – Day 155

It is Sunday afternoon, I am sitting at my computer with my coffee in hand.  Two of my kids are sleeping and two of my kids are playing nicely in the basement.  It is such a peaceful time!  Derick asked me today if I was going to write any more blog posts, so I decided to do that now.  Apparently, he is really interested in the things going on at home and wants to read about it.  He told me he wants to read it everyday.  So, I guess I better step it up a notch.  It is time-consuming and sometimes I don’t really have much to write about, but he doesn’t care.  It is supposed to be a journal while he is away.  Something that I can look back at and remember what life was like during this deployment.  So, this is an entry to get caught up a little. 

I am facilitating a Bible Study at my church.  The book that I chose is called “The Gospel of Ruth”.  That started on Tuesday.  I think it’s mainly geared toward young mothers, but it is open to anyone that wants to join.  I’m feeling a little underqualified, but I guess when God asks us to do something, he doesn’t need to look at earthly qualifications.  There were seven women in my study as of last Tuesday, but I think there are a couple more coming this week.  Two of the women in the Bible study are women that I would consider matriarchs of the church, seasoned in the Word of God.  It was a little intimidating to find out these women decided to sit in on my study and with all of us young moms, but it reminds me of a verse that addresses exactly that.

I Timothy 4:12  “Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.”

Now, I know that these women would never look down on me or “despise” me.  But, it’s a good reminder to me that I am not a lesser Christian.  We all put our faith in the same God.  Plus, in spite of the nerves, I am looking forward to their contribution.  No doubt, they will have a totally different perspective than I, when it comes to the book of Ruth.

I have had so many people say they look at me in amazement when I show up to church and Bible study with all four kids in tow.  And when I tell people I get up at 5:30 in the morning.  I know to the outsider it seems like insanity.  But, all of those things are what keeps me sane.  I get up so early so that I can have some time to myself in the quiet house before the kids wake up.  Church and Bible study are like a lifeline!  December was a really hard month for me and I think part of the reason was that I didn’t have the Bible study that I had grown to love.  It wasn’t even studying the Bible that I missed so much, I can do that on my own.  It was the 2 hours of child-free adult social time, eating adult food for breakfast, instead of  Cheerios like every other morning.  Last Tuesday it started again, and I am so excited! 

Well, I have talked a few times about money on here.  So, I guess its ok to do it again.  God has taught me a lot in the area of finances and money.  First of all, I have no business worrying, because it’s not my money anyway, and I need to treat it that way.  Although, we are not having the major peaks and valleys that we have had in the past, we have some events coming that require money.  There are three things that deal specifically with Derick’s return.  Our plan has been, tentatively, that I would fly out there and we would drive home together over a course of about 5 days.  At the same time, I have some projects around the house that I would like to get done before he comes home, that would need a bit of money.  None of this would be a problem, except that Derick doesn’t have a job to return to when he gets home.  His position at Cat was eliminated 3 weeks before he left for South America.  I mentioned to him last night that he may have to choose between driving home together, and getting the house all fixed up for him to come home to.  And his response was that we can go away for a weekend once he returns.  That made me sad, because I don’t think we’ll get another chance to take a trip like this.  (You never know, I guess.)  But the other thing I am having a hard time with is the lack of employment.  Shouldn’t I be saving every extra penny that he makes so that we can just survive until he finds a job?  But, there is another side to the job situation.  Derick is planning to start college in the fall.  So, a full-time, 9-5, Monday through Friday job is probably out of the question.  As much as I really don’t want to at this point, I am planning on returning to the workplace in the fall when school starts.  I love my profession as a cosmetologist.  But I love not taking out student loans for living expenses even more.  There is a verse that God showed me the last time Derick was gone.  I know God’s word never changes.  I know it still applies.  Sometimes this blog helps me to clear my head, so maybe God just wanted to remind me of this verse again. 

Malachi 3:10 “Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in My House, and try me now in this, says the Lord of Hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven and pour out for you such blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it.”

Verse 11 of that same chapter just caught my eye, as well.

vs 11 “And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes, so that he will not destroy the fruit of your ground, nor shall the vine fail to bear fruit for you in the field, says the Lord of Hosts.”

Making enough money is not the problem for us, right now.  Its spending wisely so that we will have money to live on when Derick comes back.  I guess the plan for now is just to save everything I can, and trust that I am honoring the Lord with how I do spend my money.  Then we wait.  Wait for the Lord to open doors.  To California, to home repairs, or to living expenses.  But the bottom line is to trust the Lord.

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

