South America – Day 151

Its been a week since I have posted anything, and today, instead of giving you really important news, I am going to give you a cookie recipe.  My very own cookie recipe experiment.  Really, I doubt if it’s that spectacular, I just don’t usually stray from the recipe when I am baking.  Cooking, definitely, but not baking.  This time, however, I didn’t really have a choice.  I have worked all week on making cookies to send to Derick.  I want to fill a whole box with nothing but baked goods.  If anyone wants to contribute, feel free.  I’m planning on mailing it on Saturday.  So far I have Snickerdoodles, Chocolate Chip Cookies, and last night I made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I have a cookbook that is nothing but cookies.  Christian thinks it is wonderful!  Sometimes when I am cooking dinner, he asks if I can get the cookie book out so he can look at it. 

So here’s the story.  Christian kept asking me if he could do an experiment in the kitchen.  It was something he made up having to do with my precious cookies, vegetable oil, more flour, and shortening.  Ugh… No!  Unless I have an idea of how it will turn out I am most likely going to say no.  So, I found a recipe called Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies.  I glanced at the recipe before I started but didn’t read it thoroughly.  And, I decided to double the recipe.  I put 2 cups of brown sugar and one cup of white sugar in a bowl, on top of the 2 sticks of very soft margarine.  Then I added 1 cup of shortening and all of a sudden I realized that there was not peanut butter in these Peanut Butter Crunch Cookies.  It called for Reese’s Pieces and Corn Flakes to be added to what was basically Sugar Cookie dough.  *gasp*  Now what??  I don’t want to waste it!  If it was just one cup of brown sugar, I could have made something else …Oatmeal Scotchies, maybe.  But 2 c. brown and 1 c. white… that’s an odd mix of a lot of sugar!  So, I started looking through my book at recipes that did call for peanut butter to be added to the dough.  Then, after discussing it with my friend Anna (very experienced in the kitchen and life in general, mentor-type friend) I decided to take the shortening out as best as I could and use peanut butter instead.  Thankfully I hadn’t done any stirring yet, although Aida tried.  I planned on eliminating the corn flakes, too, but Anna thought I should use some kind of cereal to make them crunchy like the original recipe called for.  Well, all I had was a little dab of Multi-Grain Cheerios, so I said forget it!  No cereal.  I had to cut the flour some too, because I just couldn’t get the full amount to stir into the dough.  I think if I had they would have been little peanut butter biscuits instead of peanut butter cookies.  So, all that to say that Christian was excited that we were still doing an “experiment” even if it wasn’t his experiment.

So, here is my final recipe for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies by Leslie Uhler (doubled):

2 c brown sugar

1 c white sugar

2 sticks margarine

1 c creamy peanut butter (I guess I could have used crunchy to get the “crunch” instead of corn flakes.)

1 T vanilla

4 eggs

2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

5 1/2 c flour (This was still a lot.  You could probably get away with 5 c just as well.)

1 10 oz bag of Nestle Peanut Butter Chocolate Swirl chips

1 12 oz bag of Chocolate chips (This, too, was a lot!  I think next time I would cut the Chocolate chips in half because I had a pile of chips at the bottom of my bowl after I finished baking the cookies)

Drop one inch balls on a cookie sheet a couple inches apart and bake at 350 for 10-11 minutes. 

So, there you go.  My very own peanut butter cookies.  I don’t even like peanut butter that much!  But my husband does, and he’s worth it. 

Between that, and dinner, and stuff in the living room waiting to find a home, my house isn’t exactly the picture of cleanliness today.  I washed the dishes, at least, before I went to bed.  And I made my coffee for this morning… can’t forget that!  But everything else, I just let go.  It’ll get done.  I was talking to Derick on Skype last night and I wish I could say that I didn’t want to stop, but alas… It was he that did not want to stop.  I talked but had the mess in the back of my mind the whole time, and he knew it!  I went to bed thinking, I can’t believe I did that!  My husband is 2,000 miles away, it’ll be another month or more before I get to see him, and I am thinking about dishes and laundry, instead of taking advantage of the limited time that we do get to talk to each other.  I did explain to him that he does all of his work during the day, and I do a lot of mine at night, but that’s not an excuse.  The major part of the “work” that I do, starts at 4pm when its time to start thinking about dinner.  From 4pm to 10pm, I am busy!  The kids go to bed at 8 and I have finally learned to take advantage of those 2 quiet hours at night to get the house in order for the next day.  That’s what I was thinking about last night.  Derick, if you are reading this, I am sorry!  That was not very respectful of your time, and your sacrifice to stay up late to talk to me when you have to get up so early the next morning to provide for us.  I love you, baby!  I’ll do better tonight! 

Have a good day, everyone!  Ladies, don’t forget to kiss your husband today, and give him your undivided attention when he needs it!

1 Comment

Filed under Military Life

One response to “South America – Day 151

  1. Betty Downing

    We stopped by Leslie’s last night after the cookies were almost all baked and they were delicious!!! We had to get out the milk and have milk and cookies!

Leave a Reply

