South America – Day 116

Derick asked me a couple of days ago if I had my passport yet.  I kind of chuckled.  That would have been really great, to go visit him on the beach on the Caribbean for Christmas.  I suppose it is still possible.  But I have no passport and no plans to get one in the immediate future.  I’ve also heard its rather expensive to get it rushed.  Maybe I should get one just to have on hand.  You know… incase Derick whisks me away on some romantic tropical vacation when he returns to the US.  But on the other hand I am working really hard to try to save money.  We are finally at a point where I feel like we are doing ok financially and I know eventually Derick is going to have to come back and look for a new job.  It would just be nice to have a little cushion for him to do that.  Still, I could really go for a sandy beach and some hot weather right now with a certain incredibly handsome sailor, especially when it is 8 degrees outside here. 

Yesterday he traveled to his new location.  I know where the destination is (I’m not sure I’m supposed to know) but I don’t know what any of the travel plans are.  I do know that when he flew to Cuba he had to have all of his stuff packed and loaded the night before, so he was basically slept that night in his traveling clothes.  That really isn’t a bad idea.  I think next time we go on a family vacation or any long drive in the car, I’m just gonna make the kids sleep in their clothes.  Actually, that may not go over very well… we’ll see, I guess.  So the last time I talked to him was Monday night.  He had no idea what kind of communication we will have from this point forward.  He has heard rumors of no internet access and rumors that they will all be issued an air card.  I guess eventually I’ll find out.  Hopefully sooner rather than later. 

On the home front, Christian has one more week of school left before Christmas break.  I guess its winter break now, because we have to be politically correct. (This is me rolling my eyes…)  Aida spent the night with my friend Katie last night.  I love it that Katie takes her every so often, just for a little break.  I think Aida loves it too, except that she refers to Katie’s husband, Andy, as Katie’s dad.  And gets a little intimidated by him.  But that is typical of Aida.   Allyn went to my friend, Dana’s house yesterday, so that I could get my hair done.  My appointment was cancelled, though, because my stylist was sick.  I was going to do some Christmas shopping instead and didn’t get any of it done.  Oh, well.  I saw a really great movie with a really great friend instead.  And then we went to the Gap and I think I need to go back today to look at their clearance rack!  I am sorely lacking in the fashion department.  But that’s another story all together.  Brody and Christian stayed home with Kendra while I went out yesterday. 

Poor Kendra.  Brody cried most of the time I was gone.  That is just miserable for a babysitter!  I told her if I was gone too long that she could give him a bottle.  Apparently, Brody is not a big fan of bottles.  He choked and gagged and cried for his mom.  I guess I’m married to nursing for a while longer.  That’s ok, it makes me feel needed.  And it gives me an excuse to sit down and relax at least 5 times a day… lately its been more like 6 or 7 times.  I think its time to introduce cereal in his diet.  He has gone from sleeping 10 hours at night back to eating every 2 1/2 to 3 hours around the clock.  Exhausting!  Especially when my alarm is already set for the ungodly hour of 5am! 

Today I have a fun-filled day of laundry ahead of me.  I better get started before it overtakes my basement.  I have no trouble washing and drying laundry.  It’s the folding and putting away that gets me.  That is probably my biggest vice.  Well, I have 2 or 3 more months (roughly) to master it before Derick gets back.  So, in the mean time… Hi ho, hi ho, its off to the basement I go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

