South America – Day 111

My kids are all napping right now, so I have to take advantage of the quiet house so I can post a blog entry.  I would make a pot of coffee, but I’m trying not to drink so much in the afternoon.  Quality, rather than quantity, sleep is a priority in my life right now.  If the day goes well, I usually have 2 hours of peace in the morning and 2 hours at night, when the kids are asleep.  Until Derick left for boot camp, I was not one to enjoy being alone.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love a good social gathering, but in the last 2 years I have come to love a lone shopping trip.  One time I even went out to eat all by myself.  I took a book with me to read.  Actually, last summer (2008) I went on our church’s annual bike trip.  I usually spent each night reading a book while the high schoolers played card games around me.  At one point someone asked how I could read with all the noise.  I said, simply, “It’s not my kids.”  I don’t have to listen so I choose not to. 

Today was the Christmas brunch for MOPS.  Jill Savage, from Hearts at Home, was the speaker and I just loved it.  I went to my first Hearts at Home conference last March.  I decided I want to go every year.  This coming year it is very close to when Derick may be coming home.  But, I might have to tell him that I need to go so that I can be a better wife and mother for him and his kids! 🙂  Anyway, before it started, I got a chance to meet Mark and Jill Savage.  I had just finished reading her book “My Heart’s at Home”.  (I didn’t finish my daily blog about it, but it was definitely a book worth reading if you are a mom!)  We got to talking about the military, because Derick is in the Navy and their daughter just married a man who is in the Army.  I love being a military wife and I hope that she does too.  I mentioned that Derick has a desire to be a chaplain in the Navy and Mark said he would like to partner with us in prayer for that.  I know they are just regular people but I was so excited to hear that.  Then he said I could email him the link to my blog.  Wow!  I may actually have more than 5 people reading my blog everyday!  

Part of me is really excited because this author and speaker, Jill Savage, is gonna read my blog.  But another part of me is realizing that they are just normal people like Derick and I.  They are following the path that God has laid before them just like we are.  There are days that I think I must have been out of my mind to have agreed to this life.  And I must be crazier still to tell Derick that if he wants to be a chaplain, then I want him to be a chaplain.  It is a long journey.  He has to finish his bachelor’s degree (hopefully less than 2 years) and get a masters in divinity in order to do it.  But, then I think, this is not about me.  It’s not about Derick and it’s not about our kids.  It’s about following the call of God.  I have kind of a romantic view of the military.  I love saying that my husband is in the Navy!  I LOVE  it!  I am so proud of him, everyday!  I know that it’s not really as glamorous as it sounds, but I still love it!  Maybe God has allowed me to keep that romantic view in order for me to be a better support to him.

In other news, my friend Diane is coming over tonight, to help me clean my daughter’s room.  It’s scary in there!  Aida has more clothes and shoes than me and all 3 of my little boys combined.  And she changes her clothes 6 times a day.  I’m not exaggerating!  Hope fully we can figure out some sort of system that I can keep up with.  Thank you, Lord, for Diane and her willingness to help me sort through my clutter habit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and kids

Leave a Reply

