South America – Day 81

I had a really rough day today.  Allyn peed all over my kitchen.  Aida used the excuse that she missed her daddy for every wrong behavior.  Christian came home all depressed today.  And Brody did not want to take good naps.  Sometimes I really feel like a pretty lousy parent.  The thing is, I know that’s a lie.  I know that God wants Derick in the Navy.  I know that God wants Derick in Cuba right now, and thus wants me at home alone with my 4 children.  He has fully equipped me for this task.  So today I am going to remind myself that I can do everything that God has called me to do. 

Philippians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Isaiah 40:31 – But those that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength.  They shall mount up with wings like eagles.  They shall run and not be weary.  They shall walk and not faint. 

Philippians 2:12-13 – Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed, not only in my presence but now much more in my absence – continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose 

I Corinthians 10:13 – No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make a way of escape, that you may be able to bear it. 

I Corinthians 10:31 – Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all for the glory of God.

Colossians 3:23 – And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to me, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ. 

II Timothy 1:7 – For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

Luke 6:38 – Give and it will be given to you: pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom.  For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.

I think that’s all I will share tonight.  I have more verses written down in the kitchen, but I’m in my bedroom now, and I’m too lazy to go all the way downstairs to get them.  These are just a few examples of verses that I find encouraging when I have a rough day as a long-distance wife, single mother, housekeeper, chef, and financial planner right now.  In other words, I know that the Lord has already given me the strength to do this job.  I don’t have to be tempted to believe Satans lies.  God has already given me the power to resist the devil.  I don’t have to be afraid and I don’t have to worry.  God will continue to provide everything that I need whether it is tangible or not.  And in all of this, God will be glorified!  Praise the Lord! 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

