South America – Day 62

I should label this post “South America – Day 1″ because toay is Derick’s first day in Cuba.  Yesterday morning he left California, for Cuba.  I don’t know anything beyond that.  I wasn’t able to talk to him for the rest of the day, and today his phone is being put on hold while he is gone.  I think I might have Skype on all day today, waiting for his call. 

This week hasn’t been too bad.  Wednesday I actually motivated my kids to do a little picking up around the house.  You can’t really tell anymore, but it was nice to enjoy on Wednesday night.  I don’t even remember what we did on Wednesay.  My parents came over for dinner and brought pizza.  The kids always love seeing ‘mama and baba”.  I’m not sure where they came up with “baba'”. 

Yesterday, I went to my friend Tami’s house.  She helped me with my first scrapbooking attempt.  Actually, I just watched.  That’s ok.  Until now I have never had a desire to scrapbook.  It looks fun, but it looks like an investment of time and money, and I just haven’t been willing to make that investment yet.  The pages turned out really nice.  It was 2 pages of my family to go in a big scrapbook for some friends of ours.  I picked out the pictures on Wednesday night and sent them to Walgreens (I love the internet!).  Then we picked them up on our way to her house yesterday morning.  After we did the pages, I colored her hair.  I still love doing hair.  I love the company of an adult and the guaranteed exclusive conversation that I get when I have someone in my chair.  I would get a chair and do it at home but I think my daughter wouldn’t leave me alone long enough.  Anyway, when it was time to go, I packed up my stuff and got ready to walk out the door, and realized my keys were gone.  I left them on the table and then they were gone.  I did get Aida to admit that she took them but she never did tell me what she did with them.  I think she was playing with them, got distracted, layed them down and then forgot about them.  We searched the entire house and the front yard in the rain for 2 solid hours.  She finally loaded us all in her van and took us home.  By this time it was approaching 6:00, so she also bought us dinner at McDonald’s.  When we got home (we had to make a couple of other stops) it was 6:30.  I made the kids all put their pajamas on and go to bed.  I think it was about 7:10 when I shut the light off and said goodnight.  I was so mentally exhausted!  I thought maybe I could just get the spare key when I got home and ride back with her to get my van.  But, the spare key was not where it was supposed to be.  It has been hanging in the same place for 3 years and now that I need it, I couldn’t find it.  Wow!  What a day!

My phone is on the fritz too.  It used to be that I just never got a good signal in my house.  Lately it has been getting worse.  I would have to go to the second floor if I wanted to get any signal at all.  Then in the last few days I haven’t been able to get any signal and sometimes not even a good enough signal to send a text message.  So, last night I sent a message to my exhusband, apologizing because he hasn’t been able to talk to Christian with all of these phone issues.  I can’t get another one through Verizon til December.  (Merry Christmas to me! Maybe I’ll splurge and get myself a Droid!)  Well, of all things, he found me another phone to use.  I have no idea what kind it is, but honestly, I’m kinda cheap when it comes to my phones.  I don’t need all those extra features.  So, I’m really not picky!  He and his friend Josh are bringing it over this morning.  I’m excited to get another phone!  I’m kinda bummed that I can’t tell Derick about it and that Joe is bringing it over. 

If I had a car today, I would load up my kids and drive to Copper River just to get a good cup of coffee.  I’ve decided that I really am an addict.  So, do I try to break the addiction or just embrace it.  I love coffee.  Too much makes me crazy, but I love a few cups in the morning!  

Well, maybe I’ll get some things done today since I’m stuck here.  Right now I need to start by getting my kids breakfast.

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

