South America – Day 28

My kids woke up in the middle of the night yesterday and didn’t want to go back to sleep.  Yesterday morning at 3:40, I heard Allyn crying.  So, I went downstairs to his room to comfort him.  While I was there, Christian asked me if I could take him up to my room so that his sleep won’t get interrupted again.  I said no, and told him to just ignore Allyn and go back to sleep.  Then I tried to make sure everyone was properly covered and noticed that Aida had wet the bed.  *sigh*  I really didn’t want to change the sheets on a bunk bed in the middle of the night so instead, I changed her and took her up to my room.  About an hour later, Christian called up from the bottom of the stairs to ask if he could come upstairs and lay in my bed, too.  Sure, why not?!  Well, about that time, Brody woke up and decided that it was time to eat.  Christian sits up, at this point, and wants to know what I’m doing and where I’m going.  When I explain to him that Brody is hungry and I’m just gonna sit in a chair in my room and feed him, he grabbed a book and decided that he’s not going to sleep, he’s going to read.  I said no way and told him to put the book away and go to sleep.  I don’t think anyone actually went back to sleep.  About the time I was finishing feeding Brody, my alarm went off (5am).  Of course, they want to know what that noise was and what it was for.  I said it was my alarm.  I get up early so that I can have personal time.  I’m a much nicer mom when I can have personal time before the kids wake up.  Well, so much for the personal time.  After I layed Brody down in his bed, I made coffee and then, with them laying all over me in my chair, I did my Bible Study lesson.  (I really think that God has something special for me to learn with this study, because I have never had so many interruptions doing a study!)  

Periodically they would ask about what I was doing or reading.   I told them about the story of Esther and I read Ephesians 5:21-33 to Christian.  He seemed pretty interested.  I explained to him that it means that if a woman doesn’t show respect for her father and her brothers, then she’s not going to show him respect and he shouldn’t marry her.  Then I said to Aida, that it works the same with a man and his mother and sisters.  They, of course, both nodded in agreement.  Who knows, maybe Aida will remember that for the next 20-25 years until she gets married.  When I’m done with the day’s lesson I usually write the things that I want to pray for in the margin of my book.  So, I asked the kids what I should pray for.  They come up with some pretty cute things.  We prayed for Dad to have a good time in the Navy, and for our house and our beds to sleep in, and that we are alive and things like that. 

So, we prayed together and read our Bible together.  Then they ate and got dressed and somehow I motivated them to pick up the whole house (except my room, which they should do, too, cuz  its their mess in there).  Its not CLEAN by any stretch of the imagination, but at least things are put where they belong.  After that I went to my friends, Rod and Anna’s house to do haircuts.  We went early so that the little boys could stay there for a couple of hours while Christian, Aida and I had an outing by ourselves.  We were gonna go to Tanner’s Orchard and get some apples.  After we got to Rod and Anna’s though, Christian decided that he’d rather stay and play with his friends, than go to Tanner’s with his mom and sister.  That’s fine, I didn’t care.  Aida and I went alone, and being a beautiful Saturday, it was packed.  She wanted to play on the playground, but I was afraid that I’d never get her away from there.  So, we fed the goats and bought some apples and left.  Maybe another day I can take all my kids (and a helper), then we can stay and play for a while. 

It was really hard to come home last night, without Derick.  That’s always the hardest time of the day… bedtime.  I knew that I had 2 beds with no sheets on them, so I figured I’d have to make at least one of them for all the kids to be able to go to bed.  But, Aida decided that she wanted to sleep in my bed.  I agreed, since the last thing I wanted to do when I got home was make beds.  I knew Brody would be hungry and I didn’t feel like listening to him cry while I was trying to make beds and put the others to bed.  So, it all worked out.  They all fell asleep on the way home and I just put them in bed, changed a diaper or 2 and that was that.  Thank you, God, for an easy bedtime.  I hate getting everyone ready for bed on a normal evening, let alone when we’ve been gone all day.  But, I had them in bed before 9:00 and Brody fed by 9:30 and I was asleep before 10.  I think I did pretty good!  I have sick kids again today, so I don’t know if today will be better, but yesterday was, indeed a good day.

1 Comment

Filed under Military Life

One response to “South America – Day 28

  1. Melissa

    Hey Leslie, missed you @ church today. I was wondering if your kids like eating lasagna. I am thinking about making one this week, but a whole one is way to much for alan and I to eat. If your kids would eat it, I can drop the other half by to you sometime this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

