South America – Day 23

I thought today would be the first day of 2 very long weeks.  But, it turns out that tomorrow is that day.  I didn’t expect to talk to Derick at all today and well, I didn’t.  But I got 2 text messages and a picture message.  He sends me the goofiest pictures sometimes, but he is awefully handsome in his uniform in the one he sent today! 🙂  I really hope everything works out for me to go visit him in October.  I will find out tomorrow when I get his paycheck.  Hopefully all the kinks have been worked out and I will actually be getting it.  Navy pay (military pay) really confuses me sometimes.  It probably would be less confusing if I was able to see Derick’s paystubs.  But, I think they are all online and he has to have a special password and ID card to look at them. 

Today was a normal day.  This morning the kids and I didn’t really do very much.  Katie came over again today to watch the kids while I had a doctor appointment and went to the grocery store.  The little boys slept almost the whole time she was here.  Then she went to pick up Christian from school.  She has been such a big help to me!  Tonight wasn’t very eventful.  A friend from church brought us dinner and Allyn decided he didn’t want to eat anything but the fruit, so being the big, mean mom that I am, I let the other kids eat chocolate chip cookies in front of him and he didn’t get any.  I told him he had to take two more bites of the pasta and he could have one.  He refused, so he didn’t get a cookie.  After dinner the kids played in the living room and I sat in the kitchen wishing for someone to talk to.  I would love some random adult compay.  I can’t wait for Bible Study tomorrw.  Its a chance for me to sit down and not worry about my kids.  And to talk to adults for a couple of hours.  I don’t know if the girls my age are doing the study, but honestly, I don’t really care.  I need this so much in my life right now. 

9/15/09 – Its currently 5:30 in the morning.  Brody woke me up when he started stirring, but he settled down and seems to be sleeping soundly again.  I logged on to our bank account website this morning and was a little diappointed with what I saw.  The one thing I don’t like about Navy (military) pay, is that I am left in the dark.  Derick can see his pay stubs but I am left to wonder what on earth this money is for and is it the whole amount that we were supposed to receive, and do I have to wait til the next pay period to get the rest of it?  I was just hoping that after I used some of the money to pay our bills, there would still be enough left to visit Derick in October.  I guess God has other plans.  I guess I just have to wait and see if that means the money is coming from someplace else or if it means I have to stay home.  I think I’ll stop for now.  I need to read my Bible and take a shower before my kids wake up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

