South America – Day 21

Well, I didn’t write last night, for my faithful readers.  I talked to Derick on Skype for 2 hours, then I was too tired to write anything coherent.  The last couple of days have been pretty good.  Probably because I have been able to get out of the house  a couple of times.  Derick noticed on Skype that I did my hair yesterday.  I said that’s because I actually had to go somewhere.   

Yesterday morning I went to MOPS for the first time.  Rachel invited me and I’m so glad she did.  It made me feel sane and normal.  Its ok that my house is messy a lot of the time.  My kids are more important than a spotless house.  I was about to put all 3 little kids in the nursery and sit quietly and eat breakfast and listen to the speaker and talk to other moms, without little hands pulling on me constantly.  I told the nursery worker in the baby room, that Brody would be hungry at 10:30 so they would come and get me when it was time for him to eat.  When they came to get me, apparently he had pooped through his clothes and on the shirt of the nursery worker.  I felt terrible!  Plus, I didn’t bring any extra clothes because he has never done that before.  So, they hunted around til they found a onsie that he could wear home.  Thank goodness its still warm outside!

Last night was Isaac’s birthday party.  That was at Fondulac Park in East Peoria.  It was great til it got dark and there were no lights in the pavilion.  Rachel lit some birthday candles so we could see to eat our dessert and used brownies as candle holders.  Pretty ingenious! 

Today was just about as eventful.  I went to the Share Day at Northfield Christian Fellowship today.  It was like a huge garage sale, except everything was free.  We found some things that will be usefull, but it started yesterday and I forgot that detail.  So, everything was a little picked over.  Next year I’ll have to donate more and shop early.  Then my friend, Lauren, came to visit me.  Twice today, actually.  She held Brody and we visited for a while.  The kids like it when she comes over because they play with her and she gets them all wound up before bed. 🙂

Tonight I got to talk to Derick on Skype.  It was nice to get to chat with him face to face again.  But, he was really homesick tonight.  He thought he would be leaving on his field exercise on Tuesday and then we wouldn’t get to talk for about 10 days.  Today he found out that they may leave tomorrow.  So, he was feeling a little down about that.  I think he just wasn’t ready to give up talking on Skype yet (or any talking for that matter) .  I feel really bad for him.  I could tell that he didn’t want to hang up.  I wasn’t ready to either.  I love staying up late to talk to him.  The kids are in bed, the house is quiet and I get to talk to my husband face to face.  It is on a totally different level than talking on the phone.  I think if I had to pick forms of communication, I would have to say that Skype is my favorite followed in a close second by a hand-written letter.  I think a letter feels so special because you know the person actually took time out of their busy schedule to sit down and write a letter to you.  Emails can be quick and to the point.  And typing is faster than writing.  Talking on the phone is great but holding that paper that the other person penned themselves is like holding a piece of that person.  And talking on Skype is having a face to face conversation.  I think the things that we say are changed by the form with which we use to say them.  For example, it is much easier to tell someone that we are unhappy about them in a text message than to actually dial their number and tell them in a conversation.  Or, cyber bullying is much easier than being mean in person.  Is it easier because we don’t have to deal with the person.  We are telling a machine… not a real, live person.  Makes me think of that children’s song that Aida sings in church. 

“Oh, be careful little mouth what you say… for the Father up above is looking down in love.  So, be careful little mouth, what you say.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

