South America – Day 14

It is currently 9:10pm and I am in my pajamas, sitting up in my bed.  No husband +4 kids = no social life. 🙂  That’s ok.  I wouldn’t trade this for the world, no matter how hard it may seem.  Today wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  I thought I may be teary all day, but that only happened last night in anticipation of the day today.  It really was a rather uneventful day.  I have been feeling so sick lately.  I really wanted the day to be special, but I think it was just an ordinary day.  That’s ok, ordinary is much better than completely stressed out! 

This morning I went to McDonald’s in North Peoria with my brother and sisters.  We went there because they have an indoor playland and none of us wanted to corrall 7 children at a real restaraunt… even though the service was terrible and the food can’t compare to most other places.  The rest of the day, I pretty much just layed around at my parents house, while my kids played outside.  In the late afternoon I was able to use my sister’s computer to make a video call to Derick.  We talked for about a half hour.  It was so nice to be able to see him, live.  I think I took for granted being able to see him while I talk to him, everyday while he was at home.  But, its amazing how just being able to see each other’s faces, takes the conversation to a whole new level.  I think we were both grinning through most of the conversation. 

I dreaded coming home though.  Carrie and my mom helped me a lot on Thursday, getting my house cleaned up.  It looks so much better than it did!  But one place that hadn’t been touched in a couple of days, was the kitchen.  It was scary in there, and I didn’t know if I could handle doing it right now, feeling the way I do.  So my parents came over and brought a Papa Murphy’s Pizza with them for the kids and then they swept and picked up all the junk off the floor.  (I think things just magically grow on the kitchen floor.)  And they cleared the table.  Now it is not so scarey to wake up to.  I can get up in the morning and make myself some coffee and not feel like I live in a dump! 

I never did treat myself to a webcam today.  I just didn’t want to take my 3 little kids to Best Buy, or anywhere for that matter!  They make me crazy sometimes.  I could get a lot done at my house if I had a nanny.  The nanny could just play with the kids while I do all the cooking and cleaning.  That sounds terrible.  I love playing with my kids.  I just want to do other things too.  I know this is just a phase.  I know they will grow up and then I can always have a clean house.  I know that I will wish, someday, to have these days back.  The days when the biggest problem they face is a skinned knee or brushing their teeth at night or a bad grade on a spelling test.  I’ll wish for a time when they will come in my room and want to snuggle with me in the middle of the night.  Or sit on my lap as we read a book together.  What a blessing they are!

When I was married the first time, I used to beg God for a normal life.  I just want a normal family, and normal problems, I would tell him.  I wanted a house and 4 kids and a husband that loved me unconditionally.  Well, be careful what you pray for, cuz you just might get it.  I would say that Derick and I have a very normal life, and yes, we do have 4 kids, and a house and normal problems.  Even though some of our problems are big right now, they are still very normal.  Derick lost his job a couple of months ago, along with millions of other people in our country this year.  Derick is a navy reservist, along with thousands of other people, and he has been mobilized along with 88 other people in his group, not to mention all the other military families stationed all over the world.  And, yes, even his mom being sick, as tragic as that is, is still a fairly normal thing to deal with.  But in all of this I am still blessed.  God still loves me, he still wants to bless me. 

Thank you, Jesus for this wonderful life, stressful or not!

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

