South America – Day 8

Toay is Sunday.  Sometimes its my favorite day of the week and sometimes its just not.  This morning at church was probably not my favorite day at church.  Not because anything went wrong, I just missed Derick a lot today!  I was planning on going to my in-laws for dinner tonight and I would always rather he go with me.  It just made it hard to enjoy church because I was thinking about how I was going to see Bill and Bonnie and I so wanted Derick to be with me. 

My church is so wonderful.  Everytiime I turn around, someone else is asking what they can do to help us.  Sometimes I am just overwhelmed.  Partly because of the unbelievable generosity of our church family and partly because of all the work that I have to do at my house.  My initial thought is, “NO, they can’t come here!!”  Then start trying to decide what I would have them do.  I have no idea where to even begin.  So, if you ask me if you help and I give you a blank stare, its not because I don’t want your help.  Its because I’m already thinking about how terrible my house is and now people are gonna see it that way!  Seriously though, sometimes its best for me just to have companyand just visit with someone.  I like to get to know all of these people that are offering their services!  Because when Derick gets back, I want to feel like they are still my friends! 

Anyway, I went to my in-laws tonight and made dinner.  Once I had the recipes in hand it was pretty easy.  It was finding out what my mother-in-law is allowed to eat that was the hard part.  She is basically on a salt free diet.  But, they brought home a copy of a cookbook and I got recipes for sweet and sour chicken, and cooked carrots out of that.  It was good!  Then we ate the cinnamon rolls that my mom made.  Then I prayed for her.  I knew that God wanted me to do 2 things if I went today, fix food and then pray.  Pray outloud in front of both of them and pray for healing in Bonnie.  Praying for her was really stepping out of my comfort zone.  I don’t like praying outloud in the first place, but when it comes to  praying in faith and believing God for specific things, I just feel paralyzed with fear.  Yea, I know, Perfect love cast out fear!  God did not ask me to do the healing, only to be faithful in praying for her.  So to that, I am committed!  That and dinner on Sundays for them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

