South America – Day 2

So, today is the first full day of not seeing Derick.  Nothing special has happened.  The kids have seemed to be extra rowdy.  I think maybe that was because it was getting close to lunch time.  I’m just sitting in my room now and once again, all my kids are sleeping.  Oh, the bliss of a silent house.  Even Christian is asleep.  I, once again, should join them but I just like the silence too much to spoil it.  Brody is sleeping on my shoulder as I write this.  Its pretty sweet.  🙂 

Christian got a ride from Aunt Katie to school today.  The morning routine was actually pretty calm.  It helps that he has a ride everyday.  I can handle getting them all out in the afternoon, I think, but loading them all at 8am gets a little crazy.  So far, (all three days) school has been good for him.  He seems to like his teacher.  No notes have been sent home yet.  So, we are starting off on the right track. 

I actually considered spending the night with my parents last night.  I didn’t want to come home because Jack chewed up his collar last week and it is really impossible to control him without one.  And I can’t find the pinch collar.  I was just dreading trying to let him out and then trying to put him back in the house.  When I tried to put him in the house before I went to my grandparent’s house, he was dragging his feet and I really thought he was gonna run away.  (My brother suggested taking him to the dog park to find him a new family… no collar, no tags, no chip… no dog, magically!  Nah, I couldn’t do that.)  Anyway, I was dreading coming home, but then Kendra found an extra collar that she had and gave it too me.  Suddenly going home wasn’t so bad.  And when I woke up this morning, I was glad to be in my own house and my own bed… even if it is hard to fall asleep at first in an empty bed.  That part does get easier, though. 

Today, I had a little episode with our checking account.  I think the online game that Derick plays took their fee for the next 6 months.  Well, Derick can’t exactly play it right now, so its a waste of money.  This happened last time Derick was gone.  Of all the companies that I had to call about money and bills, this one was the worst to deal with.  They were unrelenting, even when I explained to them that Derick was active duty with the Navy and was unavailable to make the arrangements himself.  They refused to refund the money, even though no one would be so much as signing on to the game.  I was so mad.  I think Derick is going to call them for me this time.  I don’t have any desire to talk to them! 

I called the Christian Center today to sign up Christian for soccer.  I guess their league for his age is full.  I’m so sad!  I was told that I can put his name on a waiting list.  I really hope he can play.  Since I’m not working I would like to have things for us all to do, and he loves soccer so much!  I didn’t sign him up sooner because everytime I thought about it, I didn’t have any money.  Not that I have much now, but I figured I’d scrimp somehow. 

This is a pretty boring blog.  Just newsy… not insightful at all.  I think I’m just numb right now.  I’m not feeling much of anything.  Of course, I’ve had very little adult interaction today.  My kids don’t make me cry over Derick too terribly often.  When I do cry, they want me to stop because its upsetting to them as well. 

I have been rolling over in my head the idea of having a verse of the week for me and the kids to memorize.  I’m sure a lot of people already do this, but we don’t at our house.  I’m beginning to realize how important it is though, to know the Word of God!  Christian, sometimes, gets scared at night.  And, as an adult, it gets really old to listen to him complain about all these obscure things that he is scared of… me being upstairs instead of down, the way the tree reflects on his blinds at night, the funny popping noise that the tub makes after someone takes a shower, me taking Jack outside after the kids are in bed for the night.  The list goes on and on.  So, I started telling him some verses that have to do with being afraid and Jesus taking care of us, and it has really helped.  Well, that gave me the idea that we should be doing this out of habit not just once in a while when we have a need.  That way, my kids will already know the verses.  Christian brought home his first Bible verse for school today.  The verses for 2nd grade are pretty simple so I may just use those verses and just work a little harder at helping him memorize them, so he remembers them for life, not just for second grade.  Plus, I can have Aida join us.  I think she is smart enough to catch on.

I don’t really have any plans for tonight now that soccer is out of the question, at least for today.  If anyone is looking for something to do, feel free to visit.

1 Comment

Filed under Military Life

One response to “South America – Day 2

  1. pensivecontemplation

    Well, if I was in town…you might find me on your doorstep! 🙂

    I think you’re right–the verse memorization is great…my sister does it with her boys, and they do catch onto it. The older boy is really into “brain things” and had a bunch memorized at a really early age…the 2nd one is more laid back, but he has still memorized some! Just personality…

Leave a comment