South America – Day 1

Today is day one of Derick’s deployment.  Well, technically its tomorrow for him, but for the rest of the family its today.  The kids and I took him to the airport at 5:00 this morning.  Now everyone is sleeping except for me.  I probably need it just as bad as they do but instead I’m on the internet.  So, I decided earlier this month to do my best to blog everyday while Derick is gone.  First, to have a journal of the events of the months alone with the kids so that Derick can read it and also so I can look back at it in the future.  Second, so that if there is anyone out there who happens to follow my blog, maybe I can be an encouragement to them.  That sounds so cliche, but I guess even if it is just one person it would be worth it.  So, I will do my best to be real.  I’m not a perfect mom, and I have occasionally raised my voice at my kids.  My house is usually a wreck, and I have rowdy and devious little kids.  But, if someone can benefit from what I write, all the better! 

I have been so teary today!  I got home at about 6:00 and started cleaning up so that my parents could come over and have breakfast with me and the kids.  I had 3 1/2 hours before I had to leave for church, and I wasn’t ready to be alone in my house.  As soon as they came in, I started crying because we still have Derick’s stupid dog.  Well, he’s really not stupid at all.  Jack is a very smart dog, we just have not taken the time to train him like he needs to be.  But, we decided to get rid of him several weeks ago, because I knew that a one-year-old lab, and a baby plus a house and 3 other kids was just too much.  So, the dog has to go.  The plan was to have this done before he left, but we are big procrastinators and Jack is still here.  We talked about finding a temporary home for him, but I have no idea who would want to do that.  Anyway, the point is, Jack is in need of a new home. 

So, my mom helped me make breakfast and bathe my middle children.  And my dad loaded all of the kids in the car and filled it up with gas.  Then we were off to church.

Everyone at my church has been so willing to help us in every way they can.  We have had people come out of the woodwork looking for ways they can help us.  I have been so overwhelmed by the amount of help people have offered that sometimes I just don’t know what to tell everyone.  For me, its usually easier if a person just tells me what they would like to do for me.  Its more difficult for me to decide what others can do at my house or with my kids.  Although, I would love for someone to mow my lawn once or twice a week.  I have never learned how.  (I probably could figure it out, I guess.)  We are even getting food brought to us twice a week from people in our church.  I think the biggest thing people could do for me is just visit.  Stop by, call me, email me.  I like the help, but sometimes I don’e mind letting my house go and visiting with a good friend.  Every time someone asked, this morning, how things were going, or when Derick left, or how they could help, I would tear up again.  Just when I think I’ve got myself under control, someone else asks me a question and I start blubbering all over again. 

This afternoon, I brought the kids home and put them all in bed.  Late getting home every night this weekend and then getting up this morning at 4:30 is not a good recipe for pleasant children.  They are all sleeping soundly.  I should be too but here I am, instead, on the internet.  My mom invited us to go with them to my grandparent’s house for dinner.  I have dinner in the fridge but I think I really would rather be around people as much as possible today.

4 Comments

Filed under Military Life

4 responses to “South America – Day 1

  1. Derick being gone makes ME want to cry! I wish I could come over with a really sappy chic flick and some great munchies and hang out.

  2. Julie Ackerman

    We continue to pray for you and the family. Starting in September I will be in Peoria two mornings a week going to CBS at Grace church, so maybe it will work out for me to call around and say hi.

    Thinking and praying for you

    love and best wishes

    Julie

  3. Derick

    You are so strong, baby! I love you so much!

  4. Amy Lawson

    Hey, I’m sorry that he’s gone.
    What an honor for you to be married to such a man! It’s always harder to be the one holding down the fort but he trusts you with this, and that says a lot too.
    He’ll do his job, have fun sometimes, and build relationships that could last a lifetime. Maybe even introduce Jesus to someone who doesn’t know him yet.
    We are here to distract you anyway you need. I know we don’t know each other very well but I remember when Josh left and we moved to a place where I didn’t know anyone.
    So we’re here. Babysitting, cleaning, crying, whatever! You name it. Thank you for your service, so he can serve our country. What an honor!

Leave a Reply

