Just another Tuesday Morning

Yesterday Derick sent an email to his Chief to tell him that he would like to be considered to be on the second team to be deployed to South America.   His Chief emailed him back and said he would forward it on to the XO (I think that means executive officer) with the highest recommendations.  Wow!  This doesn’t mean that he will definitely go, but it excites me to think that he has earned that much respect from his Chief in such a short time. 

So, it has begun.  I’m excited for him!  I may not be as excited on the day (or the week) that he leaves.  It is a huge adjustment.  It only took him being gone once for me to realize that.  People asked me all the time, “How do you do it with 3 little kids??”  I think when you know that you have to do something and you don’t have a choice, your mindset changes.  Its not an attitude of, “How will I survive?”  Its an attitude of, “I chose this and God will get me through everyday.”   Actually, to be honest I don’t think about it in terms of survival.  I just did what I had to do and I didn’t think about how hard it was or how I wish someone (Derick) was here to help me.  If I had to go to the store, I loaded up the kids and went.  If they were all asleep when we got home at night and I had to carry them all inside, I just did it, one at a time, until it was done.  And, I even intentionally took them out to eat on occasion, just because I needed to get out of the house and I couldn’t just leave them at home! 🙂

I do have an update, though.  Turns out Derick would have to be active duty for at least one year consecutively to get his college 100% paid for.  While that is a dissappointment (I thought it was 6 months), I know that it is still his desire to serve his country.  But there are plenty of benefits besides just the schooling.  So, he’s excited, so I’m excited too!  I wish I had something more exciting to write about (for all 5 of my readers) but unfortunately, I don’t.  Since Derick just came back from drill on Sunday night, all of this is fresh on our minds so its easy to write about. 

I often wonder how the kids will handle it.  I know they say kids are resiliant, but I still think about it.  I think a lot depends on me and my attitude.  Will I be pining away over his return or will I be glad that he is away protecting our freedom?  How will I portray that to my kids?  I don’t remember if I mentioned this before but it does mean that Derick and I, once again, will not be able to go on the Midwest Camp Bike Trip together.  Someday we will but it looks like this year is definitely out and possibly next year too.  I may cry in front of my kids about that. 🙂  Anyway, that’s a different subject for a different day.

1 Comment

Filed under Military Life

One response to “Just another Tuesday Morning

  1. Chd

    Will be praying for you. (all of you)

Leave a Reply

