A Fresh Outlook

So, today my bible study was talking about memories. I have had plenty of life experience so the lack thereof is certainly not the issue. But, I have been struggling with anger and bitterness over the last six months or so. I’m just easily irritated with Derick, my kids, and others. I know this is Satan trying to get the better of me. God has been bringing to mind all of the reasons why he needs to change my attitude… change my heart. “Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks.” (Matthew 12:34b) My mouth of late has not been speaking blessing. I believe that the attitude of the mother sets the tone for the entire family. If the mother is unhappy, depresses, angry, irritable, etc. so is the rest of the family. The kids learn these attitudes as a way of life and the husband is walking on eggshells so as not to cause further friction.

At the recent Hearts at Home conference that I attended, one of the speakers spoke of journals she had kept of her children and memories with each of them. She had a seperate journal for each of her kids. As any typical busy mom would do, each of the journals had less and less entries. Well, knowing myself like I do, I’m sure I would fall into the same trap and begin to neglect each of my children’s journals at some point. So, instead I have decided to make my blog page public and join the droves of mothers in writing about my God, myhusband and my kids. I really don’t care how many people I have reading this. And I probably won’t write everyday. I can’t even say I will write every week. But, if I want to change my heart and my attitude I need to start thinking about and remembering all the blessings I have instead of dwelling on the negative.

So, to start I’m going to write one wonderful thing about each member of my family.

  • Derick – He is currently at the grocery store (at 6:30am) getting us cereal for breakfast because I neglected to go grocery shopping this week. He does this often because I am neglectful more often than I’d like to admit.
  • Christian – He is so smart and so loving. He knows no stranger and not only that, but everyone is his friend. How much I have to learn about the love of Jesus from my 7 year old son!
  • Adelaide – She is my strong willed child, but she keeps me in check. If I treat her in a way that is unfair or unjust, even at 2 years old she remembers it and at sometime in the future I can expect her to use the same treatment on me. She is not easily taken advantage of!
  • Allyn – He is the most lovable and loyal child I have. He is only 16 months but he loves unconditionally, more than either of my other kids do. He is my “snugglesaurus”.

So this is my start. I pray that God would bring good memories to me everyday so that I won’t have time to dwell on the negative.

“Finally, bretheren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report ; if there be ny virtue, if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

Leave a comment

Filed under Military Life

Leave a Reply

